Breakfast with Helen Speelman / Frühstück mit Helen Speelman

Helen SpeelmanHelen Speelman is an Israeli painter, photographer and sculptress. Born in Holland in 1950, Helen emigrated to Israel in 1973 where she married and gave birth to three children. She currently lives in a pastoral village near Jerusalem.

Sabine van Baaren, our interview partner of last Sunday, has suggested Helen and we loved her choice.

We hope that Sabine will sing in Helen’s garden at some point and we have already asked for a podcast for components.

Welcome to our first breakfast in Israel, good morning Helen!

Auf Deutsch weiter lesen  

What do you usually have for breakfast?
I start my day with coffee and toast with jam.

Helen Speelman - My favourite place for breakfast

My favourite place for breakfast

What is your favourite breakfast place in your town?
My favorite place to eat breakfeast is at home.

What do people like most about your town and what do you like most about your town?
I live in a little village south west of Jerusalem.The area where I live is very popular for hiking and biking. Mountains and forest.I love to live in nature, hearing birds when I wake up.picking a fig from the fig tree, walking in the forest away from all the noise. When I want noise I go to Tel Aviv, although Jerusalem is much closer I prefer Tel Aviv, a city that bubbles.

What are you currently working on?
I am working on some photos for my next exhibition.

What inspires you and what do you when an idea comes to you?
A question always asked. I came to the conclusion that life itself inspires me, anything I see, smell, hear or experience. When an idea comes to me? Most of the time I am working on something in different mediums, I hardly preplan what I am doing, my work is intuitively, I go where the flow takes me, but when I have a specific idea, I can think about it for a long time, days, weeks, months or longer. Sometimes they work out and if not I move on.

In the Footsteps of Abraham

In the Footsteps of Abraham
Book Cover

In the Footsteps of Abraham - Exhibition in Amsterdam, Netherlands

In the Footsteps of Abraham
Exhibition in Amsterdam, Netherlands

In the Footsteps of Abraham - Exhibition in Amsterdam, Netherlands

In the Footsteps of Abraham
Exhibition in Amsterdam, Netherlands

What is the one project you are most proud of?
I published a book with my friend Rick Hardiman in 2008. The book “In the footsteps of Abraham“.
This book shows 170 photos of a 1200 hand colored lanternslides collection. The pictures were taken by Eric Matson and his team from 1898 till 1931.
In 1926 my grand father travelled twice for few months to Palestina, were he met Eric Matson, an American photographer living in Jerusalem. My grandfather ordered 1200 lanternslides, handcolorered with a hair brush with oil paint. A beautiful collection.
The collection was sent to Holland in beautiful wooden boxes. My grandfather fullfilled his dream and  travelled around Holland showing the slides to people who were interested. After he died my father donated  the whole collection to the Jewish Historic Museum in Amsterdam.
In 1998 I got permission to select 170 slides to make a photo book. Finally, in 2008, the book was published by Overlook press in NY. To promote the book the Jewish Historic Museum  in Amsterdam made a beautiful exhibition. The exhibition moved a few years later to the Jewish Museum in Munich and Museum Eretz Israel in Tel Aviv. I am glad these amazing pictures can be seen now.

If you had your own museum which artists would be in your collection?
If I had my own museum I would use it as a platform for unknown artists who deserve to be in a museum.

What are the social media platforms that you use for your work and how do you use it?
The only social media I use is facebook. I share my work, I participate in few groups, and projects.
All this is new to me. I was one of those that said “not for me”, I was rebelling against the technology that seems to speed up, so I had no choice but jump in, trying to find my way.

What have you achieved through social media and what are your planning to do in the nearer future? Did social media open any doors for you?
Through fb I met a lot of interesting people, I have sold work through fb, have been invited to participate in an exhibition. Yes it opens doors.

What do you want to achieve through Social Media?
I think today social media is very important, I hope to learn more about it and use it more.

What made you take part in “components”?
Simone invited me to join, I find the project interesting and very original.

How is components different from other online platforms?
I feel this platform is full of interesting people, it feels intimate, and I am still learning how to use it, I feel honored to be part of this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you Simone.

Where do you think should be the next “components” exhibition?
Tel Aviv!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who would you invite to breakfast from Components? What would you ask her?
I would like to invite Miranda Rumina for breakfeast.
Would like to ask her, what made her do the project “Micro ideas for Macro peace 2013“. By the way, her pictures are amazing!!!!!!!!

 And the last question, it comes from Sabine van Baaren:
Exciting, I just looked on the website, and klicked on a foto, I landed by Helen Speelman, she is also dutch, and she writes my favourite quote: “do what you love and love what you do.”
What a coincindence!!! I would ask her if she believes in syncronicity and if i may visit her in her hometown… smile…
Sabina, you are welcome to visit me, you can sing in my zen garden, I invite people, we have white wine and cheese,(smile).
I believe everything has a reason, and concerning us, I love your music, so thank you for inviting me for breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 
 
 

Helen SpeelmanHelen Speelmann ist eine israelische Malerin, Fotografin und Bildhauerin. Geboren 1950 in Holland emigrierte sie 1973 nach Israel, heiratete and bekam drei Kinder.

Sie lebt in einer Siedlung in der Nähe von Jerusalem.

Sabine van Baaren, unsere Interviewpartnerin der letzten Woche, hat sie vorgeschlagen und wir finden den Vorschlag ganz fantastisch.

Wir hoffen sehr,  das Sabine einmal in Helens Garten singen wird und erbitten jetzt schon einen Podcast für components.

Unser erstes Frühstück in Israel, Guten Morgen Helen!

Was frühstückst du so für gewöhnlich?
Ich beginne den Tag mit Kaffee und einem Toast mit Marmelade.

Helen Speelman - My favourite place for breakfast

Mein Lieblingsplatz fürs Frühstück

Wohin gehst du zum Frühstücken am liebsten?
Ich frühstücke am allerliebsten zu Hause.

Was mögen die Menschen an Deinen Wohnort, was magst du an Deiner Stadt?
Ich lebe in einem kleinen Städtchen südwestlich von Jerusalem. Die Gegend, in der ich lebe, ist für seine Berge und Wälder bekannt, man kann wandern und radfahren. Ich liebe es, in der Natur zu leben, die Vögel singen zu hören, wenn ich aufwache, eine Feige von einem Feigenbaum zu pflücken. Ich fahre nach Tel Aviv,  wenn ich Geräusche brauche. Jerusalem liegt zwar näher, aber ich bevorzuge Tel Aviv, weil die Stadt quirlig ist.

Woran arbeitest du gerade?
Ich arbeite an Fotos für meine nächste Ausstellung.

Was inspiriert dich und was tust du wenn du eine Eingebung hast?
Diese Frage wird oft gestellt. Ich bin zu der Auffassung gekommen, dass das Leben selbst mich inspiriert, alles was ich erlebe, rieche oder höre. Und wann habe ich eine Idee? Meistens arbeite ich an irgendetwas in unterschiedlichen Medien. Ich plane selten etwas, meine Arbeit ist intuitiv, ich gehe dahin wohin mich der Arbeitsfluss trägt. Wenn ich eine sehr spezielle Idee habe, dann denke ich eine lange Zeit darüber nach, Tage, Woche, aber auch Monate. Manchmal wird etwas daraus und wenn nicht, mache ich mit etwas anderem weiter.

In the Footsteps of Abraham

Das Buch “In the Footsteps of Abraham”

In the Footsteps of Abraham - Exhibition in Amsterdam, Netherlands

In the Footsteps of Abraham
Ausstellung in Amsterdam, Niederlande

In the Footsteps of Abraham - Exhibition in Amsterdam, Netherlands

In the Footsteps of Abraham
Ausstellung in Amsterdam, Niederlande

Auf welches eine Projekt bist du am meisten stolz?
2008 habe ich mit meinem Freund Rick Hardiman ein Buch herausgegeben, mit dem Titel: „In the Footsteps of Abraham“. Das Buch zeigt 170 von 1200 aus einer Sammlung handcolorierter Fotos für eine Laterna Magica. Die Aufnahmen wurden zwischen 1896 bis 1931 von Eric Matson und seinem Team aufgenommen.
Mein Großvater reiste 1926 für einige Monate nach Palästina, wo er den amerikanischen, in Jerusalem lebenden, Fotografen Eric Matson traf. Mein Großvater bestellte 1200 Aufnahmen für die Laterna Magica, von Hand koloriert mit Pinsel und Ölfarbe. Eine wundervolle Sammlung.
Die Sammlung wurde in schönen Holzschachteln nach Holland gesendet. Mein Großvater erfüllte sich einen Traum, reiste quer durch Holland und zeigte die Sammlung Menschen, die sich dafür interessierten. Nach seinem Tod vermachte mein Vater die gesamte Sammlung dem Jewish Historic Museum in Amsterdam.
1998 bekam ich die Erlaubnis 170 Dias auszusuchen um daraus ein Buch zu gestalten. 2008 wurde das Buch bei Overlook Press in New York herausgegeben. Zur Bewerbung des Buches veranstaltete das Joods Historisch Museum te Amsterdam eine wunderschöne Ausstellung. Diese Ausstellung wanderte ein paar Jahre später ins Jüdische Museum München und ins Museum Eretz in Tel Aviv. Ich bin froh, dass diese unglaublichen Bilder nun ausgestellt sind.

Wenn du ein Museum besitzen würdest, welcher Künstler befände sich in Deiner Sammlung?
Ich würde es unbekannten Künstlern widmen, die es verdienen, einen Platz im Museum zu haben.

Welche Social Media Plattformen benutzt du für die Arbeit und in welchem Umfang?
Die einzige Social Media Plattform, die ich benutze ist Facebook. Dort teile ich meine Arbeit, in verschiedenen Gruppen und Projekten.
Das ist alles sehr neu für mich. Ich habe immer zu den Menschen gehört, die gesagt haben, das ist nichts für mich. Ich habe gegen die Technologie rebelliert, aber die hat sich so schnell weiter entwickelt, das ich gar keine andere Chance hatte als auf den Zug auf zuspringen und meinen Weg zu finden.

Hat Social Media für dich schon Türen geöffnet?
Ich habe durch Facebook schon viele interessante Menschen kennengelernt, ich habe auch Arbeiten durch Facebook verkauft, ich wurde eingeladen, bei Ausstellungen teilzunehmen. Ja,  Facebook hat Türen geöffnet.

Was versuchst du mit dem Einsatz von Social Media zu erreichen?
Ich glaube, dass heutzutage Social Media sehr wichtig ist. Ich hoffe, dass ich mehr darüber erfahre und es mehr benutzen kann.

Warum hast du bei components mitgemacht?
Simone hat mich einladen teilzunehmen. Ich finde das Projekt interessant und sehr einzigartig.

Was ist bei components anders als bei anderen Internetplattformen?
Ich finde dass diese Plattform voller interessanten Menschen ist, es ist ein enge Verbundenheit. Ich lerne immer noch, es zu benutzen und ich fühle mich geehrt dabei zu sein.
Danke Simone

Wo sollte components als nächstes in einer Ausstellung zu sehen sein?
Tel Aviv!!!

Wen von Components würdest du gern in unserer Frühstücksreihe dabei haben wollen und was würdest du ihn/sie gerne fragen wollen?
Ich würde gerne Miranda Rumina zum Frühstück einladen. Ich würde sie gerne fragen, wieso sie das Projekt “Micro ideas for Macro peace 2013“ erschaffen hat. Übrigens ihre Bilder sind absolut wundervoll.

Und die letzte Frage von Sabine van Baaren.
Aufregend, ich habe einfach auf der Website und habe auf ein Foto geklickt. Und landete bei Helen Speelman, die auch Holländerin ist und meinen Lieblingssatz zitierte: “Tu was du liebst und liebe was du tust” Was für ein Zufall ! Ich würde sie gerne fragen ob sie an Synchronität glaubt und ob ich sie mal in ihrer Heimatstadt besuchen darf :-)?
Sabine, du bist herzlich willkommen bei mir, du kannst in meinem Zen Garten singen, ich lade Menschen ein, wir können Weißwein und Käse genießen :-). Ich glaube,  alles geschieht aus einem Grund und was uns betrifft, ich liebe deine Musik und danke dir für deine Frühstückseinladung.

 

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast with. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breakfast with Helen Speelman / Frühstück mit Helen Speelman

  1. sannekurz says:

    What a magnificent collection of lantern-slides…
    Geweldig!
    Bedankt voor de mooie introductie.

Leave a Reply

